Guilty Pleasures

I’m one of those snobby creatures who, if the masses love it, think it can’t be that good. I miss a lot of wonderful things because of this intrinsic character flaw. I thought the Beatles were all flash. Yep, I was judgmental at eight years old. I was wrong and came along after years, though I really didn’t care for Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts – now, it’s appeal is mostly due to nostalgia. I know, I know, I’m a heretic. I accept that. I have passed on all the Survivor shows and (whispering) American Idol…. I found them mean.

I’m pleased to say I was early on board for 24 and addicted many others to it. I caught onto Lost after all the hullabaloo was over and the show passed on into history. But, I’ve got to cop to taking guilty pleasure in the ABC TV show,  Wipeout. Oh, yes, I laugh hysterically at people braining themselves, being thrown into icy water, having their lights punched out – it’s the sound effects that really help make me laugh silly, as well as their cries as they go flying… It’s very unspiritual on my part, but I love to laugh and it makes me laugh long and out loud. For the record, I tune out the narration as it is just plain irritating – like announcers during football.

I could justify this character failing by citing Stranger in a Strange Land – oh, come on, you remember when he finally learned how to laugh. It was the monkey going for the banana …

Update: So, as of 12/29/12, I discovered the daily prompt challenge. This one under “Hate to Love” dates back to 12/18/12 – the competition is closed. This one was written 12/21/12. It is nice to see I might be late, but I won’t be talked about.

3 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasures

  1. Hunt, Like you I never got into any of the survivor (sp) shows, and I never watch America Idol or x factor on any of that other stuff i percevied to be crap. But I watched all of Doom, and I missed 24, by the time I got into it it was over. Now I sit and wait for the next season of Justified. And I loved Stranger in a Strange Land. Gosh so much to share. Take care, Bill

    Like

    • Bill, so glad I am not alone. I love Justified. Don’t know about Doom and I’ll be sure to check it out. I really hope you went back and watched 24 – it’s free now on Amazon.com – if you’re a Prime member, which I am. All 8 seasons are free on Netflix – Streaming. By free, I mean you pay the monthly $8. charge for streaming. Mind, eight seasons for 8 bucks – doesn’t come any better than that – and you don’t have to go out, it comes to you. Grin. Each season has 24 episodes – Oh, if you haven’t seen it yet, I envy you! Best ~ HuntMode

      Like

Come talk with me...

