Spring, Easter Vigil and the Anticipation of Easter

Tulips

Following up on yesterday’s post, I did attend Good Friday services last night. It is so different coming back as an adult, both comforting and disconcerting, like having a pebble in your shoe. I had read up to refresh my memory of the reasons, the symbols, the Liturgy, etc., and yet…. the reality is the difference between a black and white photo and one of color. I wanted to take in and meditate on what was being said, the responses, the purpose of the night and would find myself scrambling for the right song in the right book, kneeling, standing, when to sit, when to form a processional. I was fortunate to have women on either side of me that clearly were comfortable in their practices and moved in their participation. I have no recollection of this night when I was a child and yet, I know very well I attended. It is a bit like being in a foreign country. How much of that is due to being gone for so long or the changes that have taken place since I have been gone… Tonight is the Vigil where we wait in “confusion” and anticipation of Christ’s Resurrection and this one is outside my experience. It begins outside in the darkness with a fire and a candle. One of the parishioners said it was the most joyous night of the year.

8 thoughts on “Spring, Easter Vigil and the Anticipation of Easter

  1. It’s a magical time, these days leading up to Easter. When I was a child I loved them even more than Christmas, probably because of the emphasis on storytelling. And the correspondence between the ancient celebration of the coming of Spring and new life: it’s a potent one. My favourite story? Mary at the tomb, when she doesn’t even recognise Jesus and thinks he’s a gardener. The energy bound up in that encounter is enigmatic and packed with potential energy, a whole faith right there in a kernel. Lovely post today!

    Like

    • Kate, so glad you came by and commented! Last night during the Vigil, there is a reading of scriptures and these two men – not professional, but my word! They made the readings pop – the voice in my head is so different than the powerful way these men read Genesis, etc. Astounding for bringing it home.

      Like

  2. Hunt, Over the years I have been to several Catholic services, I have always found them to be unique. I remember as a younger man going with a lady friend and hearing the entire service in Latin and wondering to myself why did the church insist on doing that, when clearly very very few in attendance understood a word. I took my ques on when to kneel or stand or sit from my friend. But all the pomp and circumstance for an everyday service seemed overdid. But I will say there was some level of comfort in the sing song cadence of the service. I am sure as I continue my journey there will be further discussions on religion, the church and what these mean to you and I. Please take care, Bill

    Like

    • Hi Bill, on one of your earlier posted comments today, I thought it odd you’d gotten as far as March 31st. This one is as of March 30, so I am speculating you’re working your way backwards through March. That’s a relief because I thought I’d done a better job of laying the groundwork… Grin. As to the Latin, we may not have been fluent, but we knew the gist of what was said. For me, the flavor and sound allowed me to have the comfort of tradition, while freeing me to just sit with God. Sort of got my analyst’s mind out of the way. AND, it kept a sense of sacredness. Separate and apart from daily schedule and the WSJ or playtime.

      Like

Come talk with me...

