A little dust never hurt anybody

Today’s DP: “Does a messy home (or office) make you anxious and cranky, or is cleaning something you just do before company comes over?”

Frankly, I have to answer “Both.” Cleaning is my way of de-stressing – it brings order out of chaos, I have something to show for my effort (however briefly), and, based on the state of my home, I just haven’t been stressed in a very long time.

Study - No. 2 March 2013

Study - March 2013

According to my father, I got the cleaning gene from my mother. When they were first married, he would come home at noon for lunch and one day, he sat down on the bed and this BIG dust ball – couldn’t classify it as a dust bunny – came rolling out from underneath the bed. My father yelled, “Julie! Come here for a sec.” My mother came in and Dad pointed at the dust ball cavorting across the room. My mother nodded, “Oh, I know! Huge, isn’t it?” She then lifted the dust ruffle and blew it back under the bed.

Years later, my mother came home from an AA meeting and was quiet, thinking about something. I asked if it had been good and she nodded, then a heavy sigh. “What is it, Mom?” She looked at me, “There was this man talking about his wife and how she wasn’t a great housekeeper. He loved her dearly and wanted a clean house…. So, he wrote in the dust on the hall table, “I love you.” She was silent. “Okay, did it work?” “Oh, yes.” Mom sighed again. “See, I would have written back, “I love you, too.”

24 thoughts on “A little dust never hurt anybody

  1. Pingback: Oddly | Tommia's Tablet

  2. Pingback: What Would You Do If Lucifer Visited Your Home? | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: The Messer | Bullets & Dreams

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Messy or Clean? | My Daily Prompt Blog

  5. Your office looks similar to mine lol…with all the businesses we run it is difficult not to have a little chaos and adding a resident cat who loves to make it his own… I am what I am.

    Like

    • So glad I could make you laugh! The memory always brings a smile, if not an outright grin to my face. I love the fact she didn’t react with guilt at failing the good housekeeping seal, but blew it back under the bed!

      Like

  6. Pingback: Me and Quentin | The Daily Dilly Dally

  7. Hunt, I am not a neat freak, but I do like orderly When I clean I clean the apparent things, The dust bunny under the bed would have stayed there in my world too. I have an office in my home, and I can make it presentable to anyone in 30 seconds. But its best if they don’t open draws or closets. The age old saying “out of sight, out of mind” workds well for me. Please take care, Bill

    Like

Come talk with me...

