Citizenship

I had the honor to attend the swearing in ceremony of 18 new U.S. citizens at the Naturalization Ceremony held at our local library today. This is one of the most moving ceremonies I have ever attended. I caught wind of it happening in a casual conversation this past week. To the best of my knowledge, there is no announcement in advance, just the attendees and their family and friends and the public, if any, who wish to attend. I am pleased to say that our Congressman, State Representatives, and City Council were in attendance to welcome these new United States citizens.

In just 30 minutes, these 18 people’s lives were changed forever. In fact, one of the best sentences I heard was: “Please stand as we announce your country of origin and remain standing. When you are seated again, you will be United States Citizens.” Twelve countries were called out. Eighteen people stood and then took their Oath of Citizenship. One by one their names were called and they came forward to collect their citizenship certificates and to be congratulated by the leaders of our little community. As each made their way, we applauded. I thought it amusing that most people were too busy getting photos than applauding their accomplishment. It was beautiful, heart-warming and best of all, legal. Every red, white and blue cell in my body went electric.

P1000414

P1000415

P1000416

P.S. – For information on ceremonies taking place in your local area: We spoke with the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) agency representative about attending other ceremonies and to my surprise, they occur every day and several times a month – both at the local offices and as we did at our library. You are more than welcome to attend, space available. It is heart-warming and wonderful to witness. Quite an antidote to our current times. If you google, “(your town) USCIS” – it will pop up and just give ‘em a call and ask for the schedule. Well worth it!

11 thoughts on “Citizenship

  1. Must have been a rousing ceremony P.
    I’ve often thought I might have to leave my country of origin for a place where the colour of my skin means less than what i can bring to the party, but I can’t see that happening anytime soon…

    Like

    • We still follow the strategy of divide and conquer, pitting one group against another instead of “E Pluribus Unum,” out of many, one. That is and was the hope of the United States of America.

      Like

  2. I’ve never seen a citizenship ceremony nor did I know there was such a ceremony. This is amazing! I bet witnessing the experience was very touching. Did you happen to take any photos? Good post!

    Like

    • Hi Jenn, so glad you liked the post. We spoke with the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) agency representative about attending other ceremonies and to my surprise, they occur every day and several times a month – both at the local offices and as we did at our library. You are more than welcome to attend, space available. It is heart-warming and wonderful to witness. Quite an antidote to our current times. If you google, “(your town) USCIS” – it will pop up and just give ’em a call and ask for the schedule. Well worth it!

      Like

      • You are welcome. 🙂 I didn’t know citizenship ceremonies were held in every state, either! Wow! Thank you. I really learned something new from your writing. This sounds like a VERY good learning experience for my children, too! We are homeschooling now, so I would very much like for them to witness a citizenship ceremony!

        Like

  3. Hunt, I think it would be an honor to watch such an event, and I am going to do some checking here locally to see what I can do to catch one. This is a heart warming story. Thank you, Bill

    Like

Come talk with me...

