Just between you and me, Part III

I never make a long story short, so for Parts I and II, go here and here. For those that jump in to Part III, Part II ended with: “…I said, “Okay, what’s this new mission?” “We want you to lift humanity to its next level.” Right. Righty-O.”

Hubris? God’s little joke? What does that mean? Lift humanity to the next level. What level? And who on God’s green earth thinks I could do that? And, how? So, I’ve spent the last 15-20 years trying to figure it out. More than likely, it was to keep me occupied so I wouldn’t be coming back all the time talking away, asking questions, making requests, saying prayers and always, always expecting an answer in return. I am a bit of an annoyance in this area. I think I wore out the bureaucrats.

There have always been two caveats in my agreement to serve. It must be done with wholehearted joy and integrity and Light. Okay, three caveats. None of this Messiah complex for me. No, no, no. One is more than enough. Right hand to God, okay, but I’m no messiah and have no wish to be one.

Well, it always begins with the self, doesn’t it? Clean up your own life, help others as you can, but God doesn’t waste material. There was a lot of pruning and sculpting to be done on me, not to mention a lot of sanding and polishing on that potter’s wheel, and goodness knows, a lot of time in and out of that kiln. Still is, for that matter.

Love is a funny thing. Today’s(well, it was when I started writing this post…) Daily Prompt was to describe what you love about yourself and what you love in another and answer whether they are connected. It’s a popular topic. Currently, there are 207 Likes and 72 responses. Yesterday, I wrote about finding a quote by Agatha Christie that summed up my experience here on this planet. She said, “I like living. I have sometimes been wildly, despairingly, acutely miserable, racked with sorrow, but through it all I still know quite certainly that just to be alive is a grand thing.” I love living. And, maybe that is what brought forth this post.

See, here’s the thing. A couple of years ago, I was diagnosed as having COPD – Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease. You know, the commercials that have the woman followed around by an elephant, who occasionally parks itself on her chest. That one. My doctors say it is from Emphysema and a touch of asthma. There is no cure for this. At least not yet. After I made it past 21, I always thought I’d live to be 80. Not 79 or 81. 80. I’m 58.

Part IV coming right up. Stand by – (you have to publish it first to get the correct link). Update: Part IV

6 thoughts on “Just between you and me, Part III

  1. Hunt, I remember vividly the day I was given the news, I was shocked, but not supriised. It’s a hell of a note to feel that chrushing weight lifted for just a moment then slammed back down when you realize what the Doctor just told you. But I think I know what was going on in your head. Take care, Bill

    Like

  2. Pingback: of togetherness | Anawnimiss

Come talk with me...

