Here’s a nifty little trick I just learned

To my fellow WordPress bloggers: This one is for you. A little late for the Nablamo 30 day crunch, but in time for December’s unique craziness.

Here’s a nifty trick I just learned: when you have a finished draft or several, you can schedule each to post on a different day, thus making it easier when out of town…or sleeping in, or, letting your hair down.

On our “new” post, as we’re drafting them, off to the right side are the buttons, under the “Publish Section”: Save Draft, Preview, Status, Visibility, Publish Immediately (Edit), Publish

When you have finished your draft and saved it, of course!, go over to the Publish Immediately (Edit) area, click on (Edit). A calendar pops up, fill in the date and time, click ok, and now the Publish button has changed to Schedule, click schedule.

And you are all set! Tried it out last night for 00:45 (well, okay for today… ~ it’s a 2400 clock) – worked like a charm! Sweet!

I’m going to schedule this for Monday, December 2, 2013 at 3:00 a.m. for my overseas friends and you sleepy heads. Check the time stamp.

P.S. – This was written up under one of those Word Press “Look what we’ve done!” posts. Found the official version. Bless them a 1,000 times!

P.P.S. – There are some idiosyncrasies with this scheduling, any problems, go here.

And, it appears to have been available for sometime… Well, of course it has! Grin.

7 thoughts on “Here’s a nifty little trick I just learned

  1. Hunt, I can say in all honesty I have never scheduled a post to be sent at a specific time, Rarely do I even save drafts, I write my posts in Word, and to a cut and paste. It is a continual process, I love days when all I have on my plate is banging out a post. Take care, Bill

    Like

Come talk with me...

