Notes to Self – January 2, 2014

Here it is, January 2, 2014 and I did not post anything about this new year or even a resolution or two. How can that be?

New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day, I was over at C4C – Come for Company (initially, Company for Christmas, but we’ve expanded). I had a wonderful time. Though in truth it was mostly conversation between the hosts as everyone seemed pretty good at dealing with this holiday vs. the Christmas blues that can strike without warning.

Ordinarily, I do my resolutions or goal settings every three months or so as needed, so this annual resolution thing leaves me cold. I get it. I just don’t do it. What I do do is have a serious chat with myself and God, and this year, I ran. Oh, I looked pretty good, but the truth is I ran. I was on the Internet, reading, chatting, running away because it dawned on me that you teach what you most need to learn (again).

For anyone just coming in, I wrote a manual, entitled When to Lay the Weapons Down, for a course on stress I taught to attorneys. Initially, I was just going to post a few, beginning with Rules for Being Human and then whatever I saw fit to publish.

Rules for Being Human was a big hit here, which got me to thinking that maybe I should just publish the manual, When to Lay the Weapons Down, serially. And so, it started. You will find any and all under the category to the right titled “AWOL” as a convenient repository for tracking more posts down. There’s an intro, followed by The Intruder, Parts 1-5, which should be followed by Rules for Humans (published out of sequence). Note: You’ll have better luck going by date – the repository tends to post most recent post first – so the order is reversed – just to keep you on your toes and wholly confused.

There were questions about The Intruder, which I wrote way back in ancient times of 1986. I’d been thinking about the concept for a long time, but it wasn’t until I had periodontal work done on the roof of my mouth. This is where they tuck and pull the skin covering the roof of your mouth and sew stitches into the skin at the top of the roof of your mouth. Nice cadence in the repetition, don’t you think? That is because there is no skin at the top of the roof of your mouth. Go on, run your tongue up there -feel any loose rolls of skin up there? No… It is said that the thinnest skin is the skin underneath your eyes. I think the roof of the mouth (ROM) could give it a run for its money.

As I left the periodontist, they mentioned in passing that I might experience some discomfort when the Novocaine wore off and I might want to take some Advil for any lingering discomfort. Oh, eat soft foods or liquids for a couple of days – maybe until the stitches dissolve or your next appointment to remove any that remained…

Raise your hand if you’ve ever had extensive dental work? When a dentist says “discomfort,” it is my experience, based on six root canals that became infected; wisdom teeth removed that developed dry sockets – considered right up there with giving birth – though any mother will tell you nothing compares with giving birth – that dentists and I disagree sharply on the word “discomfort” and its use in dentistry.

The Novocaine wore off and the discomfort went from a quiet tempo to a cannot-sit-still tempo, ricocheting up level by level of pain. I tried the yogurt – serious mistake, it has sugar in it and that made the ROM VERY UNHAPPY. Soup was too hot. The one thing that did work was cold cottage cheese. I would gently tongue it into place, packing the ROM until the coolness wore off and it was time for another bite. Then I ran out of cottage cheese… I couldn’t eat, read or sleep. In desperation, I went over to the computer and started to write The Intruder. And, I was dazzled by it at 6:00 a.m. when I finished it. Woke up a good friend, who was not as impressed as I was. Some people liked it. One painfully intelligent man, who would now be known as an IT geek, looked up at the end, puzzled. “I don’t get it.” Okay, not for him. And, there it sat until it was time to teach a course on stress to groups of attorneys, who really didn’t want to be there.

What I have found over the years is that we pay little attention to parts of ourselves until we crash and burn and it is a long swim back to land after one of those.

I am realizing, as I read this manual piece by piece prior to publishing it here, that this year, for me, will be Physical’s turn for attention. He’s been good, really good, and now, he is yelling for my attention. Between the diagnosis of COPD and being unemployed, I’ve gotten sedentary. I would rather read and write than eat. If not for Ella, the greythound needing a couple of walks a day, I’d be in front of my monitor a solid 12-15 hours a day and you develop some bad knots and a tired butt doing that. Anybody? Anybody?

Going forward, I am thinking I’ll do Notes to Self to answer questions that arise, if any, and maybe coach myself using this manual. Want to come play with me?

29 thoughts on “Notes to Self – January 2, 2014

  1. Love the idea of “notes to self”, and yep– I find that there’s always someone who doesn’t like something… and always someone who does. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you want proof of that, go to GoodReads and look up the best books of all time. About 50% of the reviews will be negative, ๐Ÿ™‚

    As to focusing on the physical– I think that’s a positive move forward. What’s good for the body is good for the soul. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Happy New Year to you, Ms. Rara – may it be a year you look back and say, Wow, I did it!

      I think we could do a whole chapter unpacking your last sentence. Grin. And maybe that’s next. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  2. I’m a baby when it comes to dentistry so I won’t bore you.
    I have a cat so I don’t have to walk her Mostly I try ti keep her awake. When I have time. I spend 12 – 15 hours sitting at my keyboard. Notes to self: I must get up more to at least bother the cat (than sit in long stretches in 2014). ๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

  3. That must have been one horrible dental experience–that you remember it so clearly this many years later. I can definitely relate–memories of a late-1990s root canal is enough to bring tears to my eyes.

    The very best to you in 2014…

    Like

    • Trust me, Wanda, I wept through those six root canals, but those dry sockets took the cake on pain. I’m thinking a post on that alone might be in order – sure learned a lot from that. Changed my life in fact… hmmm…. ๐Ÿ™‚ May you have a 2014 that lifts your heart, breathes magic into your soul, and any healing you might want or need. xxoo HuntMode

      Like

  4. Oh, how is it we’ve lived somewhat parallel lives & not met before this? I had dry sockets on almost all my wisdom teeth too! Luckily for me, the dentist who did the extractions had also had a dry socket, so he knew the pain I was in. He gave me his home phone number & told me to call him day or night if the packing in my dry socket came loose & I was suffering. I never did take advantage of his offer, but it sure was nice to know he was there if I needed him. I think more dentists should have to suffer through some of the things that happen to us as a result of what they do so they would be more sympathetic.
    Plus you talk about stress – I suffer from panic disorder & anxiety disorder along with depression. Medication is now my friend since I fought for so many years to do it on my own. I have a lot of natural coping mechanisms, but with the number of panic attacks I was having, it’s too difficult to manage.

    Like

    • Benze, this whole dentistry and panic disorders may be what gives you your extraordinary empathy and love when speaking with others. I thank you for it. xxoo HuntMode

      Like

  5. Hunt, Smiling I know you had a great New Yearโ€™s Eve and I know that those you shared it with had an equally wonderful time. As you know I loved โ€œthe Intruder,โ€ and I got a lot of mileage from the rules for humans as well. I had my 1st root canal last year (2012) it is an experience I do not want to go thru again. Over the few months that I have known you, I have come to realize that you will battle your COPD with great gusto. Youโ€™re not the type to just roll so I know you wonโ€™t. But having said that, I being retired, could and do spend hours on line, reading, writing, and making a nuisance of myself. You will find the key, and your motor will kick in. I am not saying be patient, but I am saying show patience. Please take care, Bill.

    Like

    • Like “Obedience” Bill, patience is one of those where I sigh and say, “Do I have to?” Grin. More often I’m closer to the buzzard or vultures sitting next to each other on a branch and one says to the other:

      “Patience my ass. I’m gonna kill something.”

      And, of course, you’re right…. Thanks for your faith in me. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  6. Toothache I can sympathise with. Had it and I gave birth. Toothache is worse. Way worse. Much worse. and never ending. Can’t say mine ever got me to writing anything down other than agonizing screetches of pain ๐Ÿ˜‰
    You’re a better person than I am P. And good luck with the walking around thing.
    And even more good wishes on finding something to start earning an honest paycheck.
    You are, as ever, in my thoughts…

    Like

    • And you gave birth – twice. However, if I recall correctly, you’ve been dealing with that toothache for months or a year maybe. I think you judge pain by length rather than degree, J. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank you for your best wishes, reflected back to you through my wondrous mirror!

      Like

      • Shortlived pain I can deal with. It’s the dragged out painful things I can’t bear – be it toothache or drama. Endless times of utter misery is not something I’m made to do!

        Like

          • Yeah, yeah – lord it over me in the grace of your elderly wisdom ๐Ÿ˜‰
            I have to say, even if it comes with grey hair and saggy boobs and wrinkles, it is quite fun to grow older. Every day that passes you get a bit more freedom to speak like you want to and be who you want to be ๐Ÿ˜‰

            Like

            • Oh, just a second, I need to remove this sword from my chest – what an ace slammer, J! LOL. Fortunately, I shall color my hair tomorrow and be a red head once again; and as to the other – that’s right we have yet to meet… you don’t know just how splendid I look! ๐Ÿ™‚

              Like

Come talk with me...

