What’s happening

1222080926

As a quick update, it is snowing here in Federal Way, Washington. Our first snow despite having experienced low 20s and teens this past week. It’s lovely.

I have had some great news the past week re work. A temp position from March 11-April 24.

A second one I’ve been waiting on came through Thursday night, which involves transcribing audio, which I can do at home. They had notified me they wanted me, but due to the holidays and their current workforce, they were not able to bring me on until just now. I checked this company out quite thoroughly and was pleased to find out how legitimate they were. I was especially pleased that you, as a transcriber, must work your way up to be sure your production was good, both for your sake and for the client’s sake, with feedback on each initial small project. Once I’ve done a total of 60 minutes of transcription with approvals for each job, then I go to the second level with more flexibility re assignment, until I reach the third and final stage. The prices are set right up front, as is the time of the audio and when it is due. Currently, there are 27 jobs, under 30 minutes (my current limit being a newbie), but with turn around times of about 3 hours, once you claim the job. Ordinarily, three hours is a snap, but it’s getting up to speed using the technology I have available.

Why would I be excited about this? Well, for one, to be working again – yes! Earning something even if it is initially peanuts. Payment is through PayPal every Monday. You are a contractor, so responsible for your own taxes, etc.

Getting up to speed has some challenges, which is the best equipment is with headset and footpedal – but, here’s the trick for us old fashioned transcribers – this is digital and that means you must have digital headphones, which I do. Digital footpedal – not yet. Costs range anywhere from about $55.00 to averaging around $89, but can go as high as $400, if you are crazy. That translates to right now having to work in two programs simultaneously, using hotkeys, which is much better than not, but still takes time to get up to speed. Then there’s the choice of programs and there are a lot of ’em out there. Currently, I am working with VLC media player and the Word template vs. other programs.

The fantastic thing is the range of what we transcribe, which can be anything from legal, to a TED talk, to symposiums, etc.

Simultaneously, another friend called to say she had just found out she had a very serious medical problem and asked if I’d be able to drive her to some appointments on Friday (yesterday). It was found to be very serious with surgery recommended for next week. My friend is wrestling with this and I ask if you have a moment, send up a prayer for her.

Might be a bit slow posting the next few days while I get my feet wet and earn some bucks. Thank you, each and every one of you.

Best ~ HuntMode

28 thoughts on “What’s happening

  1. Congratulations!
    Not sure if one of the voice-to-text programs (like Dragon) would also help for that. Then you might just have to proofread…

    Much hope and support for your friend.

    Like

    • E.G. ` thank you! Interesting thought. First I’m going to do what I know how to do, then I’ll check out other ways – there’s an entire forum on the site about the various programs and what works best. Grin. Just glad to be working. Even if it’s $2.58 for a project. Laughter. Self respect needed. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Hunt, you are to be congradulated, we know you have struggled a bit, and have chased a lot of deadends. I can’t be anyhin other than happy for you. This appears to be a giant 1st step. Smiling, of course I will say a prayer for your friend. Take care, and congrats again. Bill

    Like

    • Ah, Wally, never a question of retirement, either financially or desired – it was what my body could do. It no longer handles stress well. πŸ™‚ We shall see how this all goes. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. My friend is wrestling with this and I ask if you have a moment, send up a prayer for her.

    Ask, and ye shall receive, as always.

    The snow hit us quite by surprise– church block meetings were all canceled today at the stake level.

    Like

    • Thank you, Jak, for the prayers for my friend. They are needed and gratefully accepted. πŸ™‚

      Snow? What an odd thing… πŸ™‚ Hope you either enjoy snow or it melts quickly!

      Like

  4. Forgot to mention…

    Currently, I am working with VLC media player and the Word template vs. other programs.

    Can’t use Word on Linux, but VLC player being an open source project, that is available to me. Might this sort of work be available to us? (Cimmy really detests the tax part of contracting, though.)

    Like

    • Jak, the company is called http://www.Rev.com – when you apply, they will ask you to transcribe two audio files and upload them for review and grading. Email me if you’ve any questions. πŸ™‚

      Today, I chose a 9 minute job that was very clear audio. Even with hot keys, etc., the delay in toggling from program to program was maddening.

      They do recommend using a digital footpedal and headset. Now, I’m looking at which pedal goes with which transcription program. Some are compatible and some are not.

      That said, you are free to use any word processing program and audio device. They have ones set up for use instantly. I just didn’t want to stop and learn one more thing before getting started.

      Stay warm!

      Like

Come talk with me...

