If I won the lottery, I’d ….

Just about a year ago, I wrote a post on what I would do with a plot of land. I remembered it today in light of what my friend has experienced since her heart surgery. While I’ve posted the link, I’m going to reprint it here. It was titled:

Plot of Earth – Do Not Go Gently …Without Your Friends

 

Daily Prompt Challenge: Plot of Earth: You’re given a plot of land and have the financial resources to do what you please. What’s the plan?

My plot of land is about 50 acres, give or take a bushel or two, with all the appropriate appurtenances, i.e., it has water, a river, good soil, a good city council, and a “leave me alone” population surrounding it.

That stipulated, and the fact I have the resources to do as I please, I would set up a community of small cottages in anticipation that my friends and I are aging and some of my friends have the knowledge that in their bloodline is Alzheimer’s, Diabetes, cancer, COPD, what have you as an aging terror lurking in their cells somewhere. Within this community, we would have our privacy, but we would have the gift of our friends around us whether to age in peace or not to be alone as the sun begins to set on our time here.

I believe strongly in the adage of “Do not go gently into that good night” without the company of your friends. I would throw in a community dining room, a doctor on site with his or her own little clinic and cottage. Each cottage would have its own space for a garden, maybe we would have a golf course, a pool, those wonderful little golf carts to go on visits. Maybe my friends would come for a vacation or permanently, but they would know they were in the company of people who loved them, people who would argue with them, and people who would care enough to be there.

There was another little thing I saw today:

for 2-28-2014 post

 

 

 

Update: I’m thinking along the lines of the San Ysidro Ranch, here’s a link, so you can day dream about your cottage: be sure to check out accommodations and the photo gallery – grin:

http://www.sanysidroranch.com/san_index.cfm

21 thoughts on “If I won the lottery, I’d ….

  1. I don’t need anything half so fancy as the San Ysidro Ranch. A cottage, good friends near, room for the greyhounds to snooze.
    Consider this my application! I want in.

    Like

  2. A good idea that P. We all get older and it’s so much better being with friends than with strangers!!
    If I win the lotto, seeing as I don’t have many friends, it would give me and C the opportunity to build our dream house, and integrate our lives completely without having to worry about money all the time – a dream I’ll hold on to…

    Like

  3. Places like that are springing up. There has been a lot of talk of creating a community like that in Ashland. You might want to google Elder Communities. I shudder to think what it would cost, though…..
    Hence, the lottery!

    Like

Come talk with me...

