SLOMO ~ grin

My nephew saw this and forwarded it to numerous people, saying “Worth 15 minutes of your time.” His father, my brother, laughed and forwarded it to me, saying he had met and spoken with Slomo many times while walking on Pacific Beach in San Diego, where my brother lives. The first link he gave just led to the New York Times article by Josh I. Zenberg, but no video, it had disappeared. So, I googled “Slomo” and caught up with the video. I think it is worth a few minutes of your time. Grin. All I can give you is the link:

http://www.nytimes.com/video/opinion/100000002796999/slomo.html

21 thoughts on “SLOMO ~ grin

  1. It’s a lovely story, Huntie – but it can only be because he was what he calls an asshole first, enabling him to earn enough money to retire totally and do this for the rest of his life. Too many of us will never have enough to be able to.

    Like

    • There are a lot of dreamers out there, M.R., who would like to think they would do it…. Not many would want to live in a studio and rollerblade. You don’t have to be rich to do that. I don’t think you have to be an asshole to earn money. We could have a whole blog devoted to this topic alone!

      Like

  2. This was super. Reminds me of when I used to be a hippie-Woodstock kid. And now, all these years later, I’m reverting. I’m going in a new profession direction. I’m putting a black streak into my white hair….my poor husband thinks I’ve gone crazy. maybe Huntie, I have. Seems I am in good company.

    Like

      • Funny about my dreams Hunt. I don’t have “specific” and detailed dreams. But things that I want to be part of my dreams. Writing. Ocean/wind and stone cottages. Sunshine and bikes. Conversations and sharing of grand ideas or silly notions. And when I tried to think of how to clearly tell you this….I realized I have my dreams. Maybe in ltttle bitty pieces…. partialed out among my realities. But they are there to dream about and do, and if I have the fortune to have a piece of a dream it helps carry me through until I can get to the next little piece. πŸ™‚ Does that make sense?

        Like

        • Oh, CM, yes it does! I’ve been a bit concerned I’d lost my ability to dream, but I’ve come to realize I’m quite happy living fairly simply – I don’t want a lot of things, I want to be sure that I’ve shelter, food, heat, jeans, tennis shoes (grin), sweats, flannel pajamas, Ella & Elby and, of course, great health – not in that order, mind! Oh, and a car that works, gas, bills paid and to never worry those things again! Okay, dinner out every once in a while, great conversations with friends – virtual and real – and just peace. Laughter.

          Like

Come talk with me...

