The Rabbit had it right – I am late for a very important date

(I just need to insert here that I took time to research that picture and most of the White Rabbit from Alice in Wonderland pictures creeped me out. I don’t remember the White Rabbit as creepy, do you?)

I have been honored and I am late. Anyone in real time and space who knows me will not be surprised that I am late. It is a given, always about 7-10 minutes, more or less. For this, I am late by 16 days….

The staff, consisting of Ella, the greythound, the new Chaser here at ChasingRabbitHoles, and Elby, That Cat! – who is the Chief of Security (he’s still too young to be an analyst) gave their input. Elby felt it was not his bailiwick since it was not a breach of security matter, so he ambled off to his penthouse for a nap. Ella, on the other hand, felt it was a very serious matter, perhaps even a breach of manners (uh oh…. Greyhounds take manners very seriously and Ella is the Ambassador of Greyhounds.). After all was said and done, Ella opined:

What can I say? She, of all, would know about rabbits and rabbit holes, being a professional, albeit retired, racer of 135 races and a winner of over 1/3 of her races. So, follow the Rabbit:

My friend, Tess of How the Cookie Crumbles, writes one of the quirkest blogs, and was recently honored and in turn, chose three of us to honor with four questions. This isn’t your typical award or nominate forty-three other bloggers. Oh no, that would be, ummmmm, simple. Time consuming, but relatively simple. No, no, nooooooo. Four questions. Four simple questions about why I write…. Nominate three others (and don’t forget to tell them!)

What am I working on at the moment?
How does my work differ from others of its genre?
Why do I write what I do?
How does my writing process work?

Right. Follow four rabbits simultaneously down four separate rabbit holes. Well, okay then.

First, in praise of Tess, who goes by the most off-putting nom de plume, “Let’s Cut The Crap” – I swear to God, Tess, for the longest time, on all the blogs I ran into you on, I wouldn’t, couldn’t reconcile your loving comments and wisdom with that name…. I finally had to go find out for myself and what treasure I found under the mildest of blog names, “How the Cookie Crumbles.” I mean, really? Really? You Scorpio! She will make me laugh, spitting out coffee, and then take my breath right out of my chest with this one (read it, worth it). She is a woman I want to sit across a table from and have a cuppa with or a cocktail. I just know I would come away a richer person for having spent time with Tess.

What am I working on at the moment?

I am giving birth at the moment. At least I think I am. In April, the U.S. government officially retired me, which I wanted. I think. Yet, it’s disconcerting. I’ve never been busier than these last few weeks and somewhere, somehow out of this new status, I sense a rebirth or a new birth, or for Pete’s sake, some sort of gestation! You know that scene? There’s a close up of an egg. A little tiny crack appears. Then another. Then one more and a tiny, tiny beak breaks through into air, sniffs, and resumes cracking that egg with vim, vigor and diligence. That’s what I sense going on at the moment. Oh, you wanted to know in the context of writing. Well… cough. There’s just a ton of **** (stuff) burgeoning and beckoning for attention and room and there’s a logjam at the moment. Stay tune, this is the starting gate.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I don’t have a genre. I eat genres. For many years, I wrote for publication as a freelance writer, trying to please an editor or a publisher, fitting myself to their needs and wants. I was successful – not wildly so, but enough that I always earned their top pay and could point to articles and say in answer to that question writers dread, “Have you published anything I might have read?” “Why yes, yes, I have.” (puff chest out)

But…. ah, I dried up. I could not do it anymore. Write to order. There were wilder geese inside of me who wanted to fly and they left when they could not. I still wrote, but not for publication. I had to call those geese back, those beautiful soaring, honking geese and they took many years of courting and regaining their trust to return. I now fly to them, I pursue those glorious falcons, geese, peregrines of flight of ideas and dreams whether it be of politics, of sin, of outrage and laughter, of life brimming and bursting at the seams, wanting to glorify the miracle that life is.

Why do I write what I do?

Because I must. Some people eat to live and others live to eat. For me, writing is a gift and I lost it once by not respecting that it has its own laws and allegiance. I was bereft in my loss, an empty vessel crying for it to come back. That is not hyperbole. That is as truthful as I can state it.

I answer the call as it comes. It might be honoring memories of my family, stories passed down. It might be the politics of the day. It might be sharing about a friend who has a trouble or has done something so unique, so fabulous that I have to stand up and shout, “Look at that! Look at what one person can do! And I know them!” The words do not rest in my chest. They do not rest in my mind. They will push and pull relentlessly in the corridors of my mind until I walk over to that computer, keyboard and monitor and give them voice. Sometimes I am very lucky and it is the words of my heart. On very special days, they are the words of my Soul.

How does my writing process work?

Laughter, here’s where we lighten up. I spend an hour to six hours writing (handwriting) in my journal, nattering on, beginning with “Good morning, God,” and we launch from there. He did say something to the effect of bring me your worries, your cares, leave them with Me. Trust Me. “Peace! Be still and know that I am God.” So, I do. And in that outpouring meant for nobody but God and me, I struggle to find the answers to questions most people have the good sense to leave to God. Between us, we thrash it out and I’ve learned to listen. I’ve learned to stop and just pause. I’ve learned to turn it over to God and run about my day. Perfectly? Weak laughter – not even close. But sometimes, I get a tap on the shoulder, a whisper in my ear, “This way, Huntie, write about this one, talk about this one, how mad are you?, WRITE THIS…” and so I do. And when I do, the joy that fills me is like filling up on rocket fuel and I am higher than a kite.

My three nominees are:

http://sheridegrom.wordpress.com/ ~ Sheri de Grom ~ this woman has inch by inch crawled into my heart in a very short space of time because she is the genuine article, writing from her core essence, sharing pieces of her soul that gleam so brightly in the sunlight, I want to sit in the dirt of her garden.

http://margaretrosestringer.com/ ~ Margaret Rose Stringer ~ M.R. or M-R wrote a book about her mate and her love and their life before he passed on way too early. She had this very cool photo of herself in a hat that always made me want to go out and be stylish again. Bring it back, M.R.! She’s pungent, acerbic and utterly delightful in her views, opinions and causes. She stirs the pot something fierce.

http://ericalagan.net/ ~ Eric Alagan ~ Whenever Eric visits my blog and clicks Like, I swell and puff out my chest just as I did when I was a little girl in an awkward one piece swimsuit, probably weighing in at 30 lbs – okay, I weighed 40 lbs from 8-11, so go with me on this, there are photos. He is a talent, he has kindness in bringing other writers forward, he has a puckish sense of humor and he burns bright.

All you have to do is answer these four questions and nominate three others to put in their answers on the following Monday… for my three, that is May 26, 2014. You are not obligated to join in. It’s not an award per se, it’s more the key to your inner door, if you are willing to share. I hope you will. Love HuntMode

What am I working on at the moment?
How does my work differ from others of its genre?
Why do I write what I do?
How does my writing process work?

28 thoughts on “The Rabbit had it right – I am late for a very important date

  1. OK, I’m in, because it’s not an award. In other words, no-one is intimating that I (or anyone else mentioned) am/is better than anyone else … you’re just curious, right ?
    I can relate to that.
    Do I do this as a post, then, Huntie ?

    Like

  2. Have not been to MR’s blog, but intend to. Tess and Sheri are just too amazing and haven’t you had a ton of fun finding out how whimsical Tess is???? And to think, I too join the ranks of those who are Scorpios…in fact, I have blogged about a group of us all born on 11/16 – the 11/16 Society. My Samurai and I were born within 5 minutes of each other on 11/16/51 – he in Hakone, Japan and me in Farmville, VA. you wuldn’t know I was a Scorp though unless i told you. One would think I was a domestic, mild Cancer…I think. I think Tess also nominated me. I need to check. I’ve gotten so overwhelmed with being retired, my brain has turned to sludge. I need to wake up again…Thank you Huntie dear for answering these questions in such an amazing, open, and incredible way. I shall have to google you and pull up what you have written. I am so very impressed and so very grateful you and your muse are in the ink again.

    Like

    • Kanzen, it was you who informed me that Tess had nominated both of us…. Thank God you did because she forgot to inform me…. or….it was a devious test to see if I was keeping up with her blog. Nah, she would never do that, would she?! Actually, I suspect she was still snapping back from her China trip and it just flew out of her mind. Grin.

      I could do a whole scree on Scorpios, being part Scorpio myself. I treasure them. Born within five minutes of your mate?! Different longitude and latitudes though and it does make a diff, doesn’t it?

      Rest, Kanzen – I stretched out for a nap yesterday, thinking maybe 5:30 – 7:00 p.m. – I slept until 3:00 a.m., waking occasionally and then just surrendering to the joy of resting and sleeping. Got up at 3:00, puttered for 3 hours, ate something and over the course of the next four hours, slept another 3.5…. Clearly, I needed it. 🙂 So nice to be able to surrender to the need.

      Like

  3. Huntie, well said, from top to bottom, it is you, it is why you do, your process is almost as unique as you, and your words, thoughts, and works touch so many of us. Take care, Bill

    Like

    • Thank you, Bill. Wasn’t sure it would come across as seriously as I meant it. I thought later I should have kept it short and snappy… well, if that is what it takes to blow out a logjam, there it is. Thank you for seeing what I had meant to convey. 🙂

      Like

  4. Huntie – Am I crazy or what. I believe the heavens above have floated through the white rabbit to you and then on to me and it began with Tess. What a wonderful soul she is. From Tess, when she passed this challenge on to you, I also met Kanzen, Mike, and Bill and ya all led me to Barbara and I’ve been singing ever since. Marie of writingwings sent me the same questions this morning – but may I be a slurper (my word I think) and accepted your wonderful challenge as well. I so love the photos. You always manage to cheer me up and what a fun read this is, and not because I’m in it.

    Like

    • Well, look at you, my new friend! Congratulations – you should be stretching tall in your garden right now – two of us want to know of your inner sanctum. Fantastic! By all means, reference us both, if you like, with the same post. Or, hmm, would it differ depending on which one of us you were speaking to? Hmm…. grin. Slurp out, Sheri! So glad to cheer you and that you do have fun here – and, also, it had to be a little fun – a tiny quiver, perhaps, to be mentioned? huge grin and wink

      Like

  5. This feels like a party. All the best people I know are here. Will someone please pass me a glass. Time to give a toast to Kanzen, Sheri and Huntie. I feel in such warm company.
    Each one of you is much too generous but I have to admit, you give me a lift and now I want to dance. Thank you Huntie for your kind shout out. I enjoy being me. It’s what I do best. ~(*_*)~~
    Thank you all for playing kalong. I love learning about what your write, as well as what and how.
    Drum roll, please. Raise your glass. C.l.i.n.k. Here’s to our health and friendship. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

  6. Well Huntie,

    I feel honoured truly, but for now, have to decline due to deadlines.

    But tell you what – I’m going to keep this in view and probably tackle it sometime in June, if it’s okay.

    All good wishes,
    Eric

    Like

    • Eric, I just woke from a total of 13.5 hours sleep, so y’all just take your time. I would love to know your answers. And, I was 16 days late, so you answer as time permits and desire prompts. 🙂

      Like

  7. Huntie – I’m back for more. This entire chain of events is simply just plain good ole fashioned fun and I missed getting to dance around the May Pole this year, speaking of fun. I feel somehow we are each making up for lost time and Lord knows, we don’t have time to fritter away. Since you were so kind to allow Eric (from above – doesn’t that have a saintly sound to it) to delay his post until an unknown date in the future, could I beg the same grace. Tom is still very ill and I’m up to my ear lobes in firing and hiring doctors. (This is a good time for me not to be a flop eared rabbit) but I’ve always loved them so. I do promise I won’t take forever but I want to bring my best offerings to the table.
    Look what a gold mind I located when Tess nominated you. Sheri

    Like

Come talk with me...

