Mowing the Lawn – Memorial Day

Ah, Kanzen, you sooth the heart, as always.

kanzen sakura

  “You can count the seeds in an apple, but you can’t count the apples in a seed”. Karen Jensen

I love to mow my yard. I know exactly what is ahead and what has to be accomplished. I can see progress being made with each row that is cut. I know when the job is finished. I take pride in the manicured lawn and the smell of freshly cut grass is soothing. It is also a great time to reflect – no cell phones or text messages can be heard. The rhythmic walking and meditating inside my head calms and soothes me.

There are many of us faced with tasks that never seem to be done or that make any sense. We all have our personal “lawn to mow”.  As we live our lives, we are often unaware of how we touch others – how our kindness inspires, heartens, strengthens…

View original post 122 more words

2 thoughts on “Mowing the Lawn – Memorial Day

  1. Charming and timely. Love the seeds & apples analogy! When I grow up I’d like to be the Johnny Appleseed of patriotism.

    Like

Come talk with me...

