TAPS ~ God Bless and Keep You, Fallen One

Throughout today, TAPS will play across cemeteries in honored memory of our fallen husbands, fathers, sons, daughters, mothers, aunts and uncles, grandfathers, great-grandfathers – calling back through time to the United States Civil War. It is played every night on United States military bases signaling end of day.

I am incapable of sitting during the playing and sounding of TAPS, whether it be a newscast or on radio or in person. It wrings an emotional response from me. Perhaps you, too. Here it is:

And here is the history of TAPS. There are many stories about it. This appears to be the closest I could find re the truth of this poignant call:

18 thoughts on “TAPS ~ God Bless and Keep You, Fallen One

  1. It always makes me cry, as we sound that last lullaby for our fallen hero to sleep the sleep of peace and justice, that his tour is done and he can rest while we take our turn to watch over him. A friend of mine, a veteran who survived the hell of Viet Nam, died of AIDS back in 89. His family had the military burial for him, along with the playing of Taps. When the last note sounded, those of us who had witnessed his life in the last few years stood and sang Taps acapella for him:

    Day is done,
    gone the sun,
    from the Lakes from the hills from the sky,
    all is well, safely rest, God is nigh.

    Fading light,
    Dims the sight,
    And a star Gems the sky Gleaming bright,
    From afar, Drawing nigh, Falls the night.

    Thanks and praise,
    For our days,
    Neath the sun, Neath the stars, Neath the sky,
    As we go, This we know, God is nigh

    Indeed, thanks to our Vets for our days we can live without fear of our freedoms being taken from us. thank you Huntie for this. My papa is resting peacefully in a small country cemetery, with his family around him, and with several of his brothers in arms who fought since the Revolutionary war. When next I visit him, I shall take my violin to play Taps for him and for those who went before.

    Like

  2. Most interesting, indeed.
    It is confusingly similar to The Last Post, known to our military and which in fact acts as an introduction to my mother’s ‘Delville Wood’ march, written in memory of the many South Africans who fell during that battle.

    Like

    • You never fail to surprise me, Col. I shall follow up. Hmmm, in the historical video, I think he mentions it was a rearrangement of 24 notes from a previous bugle song. I may have that confused as I bounced around trying to find the history.

      Like

      • It seems clear that the TAPS version is a Civil War adaptation which has become perhaps the best known one – Hollywood may have a lot to do with that, too!
        However, the name comes from the same origins – the Dutch ‘tap toe’ (which is not as in ‘toe’ but pronounced ‘tu’) but it is the slightly more elaborate tune which is used in our Remembrance Day parades – and in the march I referred to.

        Like

  3. Hunt, thank you, I heard this song everyday for almost 9 years, then in the reserves for another 5 years. It weakens the heart, and always forces tears. I truly appreciated the story, I have heard versions of the history before, but this is one of the better ones. Take care, Bill

    Like

Come talk with me...

