Help ~ gotta gain weight – what’s your favorite “forbidden” food, please

Alright, I know many of you will snarl at that title. For the first time in my life, I bought a weight scale, which arrived today. Stats: Height: Just shy of 5’3″; Weight: 78.2 lbs.

Here’s the deal: I have one of the highest and fastest metabolisms. I lose weight if I sit still and think. If I miss a meal, I lose a pound. I’m not kidding, nor am I bragging.

My normal weight from age 19 to 55 was about 94 lbs, varying by a lb on any given day. It is true I can go a long time between meals, which is part of the problem, but, trust me on this, when I sit down to eat, I will eat a steak, an entire portion of rice meant to feed two people with butter and soy-sauce, a vegetable – let’s say corn on the cob smothered in butter and salt and pepper. I’ll drink a tall glass of milk or a glass of wine or cold beer with my dinner. About an hour or two hours later, I will eat dessert. If I stay up late, I’ll throw in a plate of cheeses with Triscuits and fruit.

With the diagnosis of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), it was mentioned to make a real effort to eat as COPD’ers can lose weight. While I was working, I had a real bad cold/flu and was prescribed Prednisone – wow! Almost immediately, I suddenly had cleavage. It took me forever to understand why my jeans were so uncomfortable. I’d gone from a zero or a size 2 (depends on the brand) to a size 4. For the first time in my life, I had to buy in another size. I actually shot past 100 lbs for the first time and went as high as 108. I was so delighted, especially when anybody said something. I was becoming a woman of substance. Bamm! Job came to an end and there was nobody around to remind me or eat in front of me, making me think, mmmm, that looks good.

I bring this up because I now have health insurance and they did a full panel of tests, one of which determined I was hypo-thyroid. The symptoms: you feel sluggish, might be sleeping more, oh and you’ve been gaining weight. Two out of three. For the record, the score is supposed to be in these ranges 0.04 – 5.1. Me? I was at 54. something. Instantly, an Rx to combat this, with checkups in the future to seek the perfect balance. Heads up: you might lose weight while taking this medication. I did ask if anyone had checked my weight. Mmmmm.

So, back in 1974, I fell in love and it didn’t work out. I dropped 20 lbs in about two to three weeks and it took a year to get back 16 lbs, eating six full meals a day. Well, I’m now back in 1974 ~ nnnnoooooooo. I’ve spent the day researching online, again…., the best foods for gaining weight. There’s more info out there than you’d think. One of the best suggestions was to drink a gallon of whole milk per day. Per day, kids. You work up to it. But, it really comes down to eating six meals a day, which is where YOU COME IN.

I am bored with my own recipes. What do you love that “If I just look at it, I gain five pounds.”

31 thoughts on “Help ~ gotta gain weight – what’s your favorite “forbidden” food, please

  1. Maybe you should give time for the metabolism to kick in from the medication first, because if you put too much on you might suddenly not be able to get it off and then you will be like the rest of us! But, if it is urgent I’d go pizza every time, lots of cheese. 🙂 Easy to make yourself with your favourite toppings.

    Like

  2. oh my goodness huntie. I am on a diet and have to lose you – basically that much weight. I wish I could siphon some off for you. Well, I would suggest you go to Amazon and buy one of those Cuisinart Ice Cream makers…homemade ice cream every week!!!! You might also check out various smoothies and shakes that will add some weight and bulk to you but still be good for you. I am also a proponent of fried chicken, fried okra, fried squash for lunch, for breakfast: cheese and veggie omelet with several homemade biscuits and pancakes….cake – any kind of cake…waffles several times a day topped with that homemade ice cream. Bless your itty bitty sweet huge heart….I can’t believe they are giving you meds that will make you lose weght…but, will it slow down your metabolism? if so, eat waffles topped with ice cream and take a nap…repeat….repeat…I can look at a picture of food and gain weight. make my Papa’s peach cobbler and eat it in a day….

    Like

    • Kanzen, my old pulmonologist looked over his glasses at me and said, “Here’s the good news. I want you to have milkshakes every day…” I tried that (since I was 8 and weighed 40 lbs for 3 years – 8 to 11); the smoothies – I love them. Today, I weighed in at 2:30 p.m. at 78.2. I drank 2 cups of milk with instant breakfast. Weighed 79.2 at 4:00 p.m. Took a nap. Got up at 6:30 p.m., weighed 78.2.

      I appreciate your suggestions and it comes down to eating every 3 hours or so. Not to whine, but it just occurred to me, the coughing that comes with COPD, if it gets bad or extended over hours, I end up throwing up due to muscles being overworked, and then I have to eat again to make up for it. Damn it.

      I will follow your suggestions though – food, glorious food – it always helps when I read your recipes!

      Like

      • Oh my, I forgot about the coughing. then don’t fill your tummy so full and (maybe you are already doing this) sleep inclined and when you nap or read while inclining…sounds almost like being diabetic….six meals a day but in your case, concentrated small meals that won’t cause acid to come up and aggravate the coughing. Try small concentrated meals and don’t listen to me about doing some of the stuffing. I have GERD so I know how when you are stuffed, that acid just loves to jump up your esophagus….You aren’t whining. This is a real health concern and vital to your well being. ice cream, shakes, smoothies, instant breakfast…..

        Like

    • Kanzen, which ice-cream maker did you get. Amazon has lots – oh, I see you bought Cuisinart. Okay, there are several choices ranging from maybe $49 to $270. What did you get, oh fabulous chef?

      Like

  3. Hunt, when i quit smoking i gained almost 100 in the next 2 years. It was a see food diet, everythibg taste better so i ate it. I don’t know if that is the proper solution for you or not, but i wish it hadn’t worked so well for me. I am sure you will get so sfrong advice on this subject. Take care, Bill

    Like

    • Thanks, Bill! When I quit smoking, food did not taste better, it tasted different and I lost all my comfort foods. And, I didn’t gain weight. But I am glad for you that everything tasted better, sorry about the weight gain. Best ~ Hunt

      Like

  4. Stringer bought us a deep fryer, specifically for cooking one of his dishes that I would kill for. We called them PISH FATTIES. 🙂
    They were simply tinned tuna patties made with breadcumbs and egg and parsley and very finely chopped onion and various things to make ’em taste nice (I never cooked when he was alive); but it was the deep frying that made them crunchy and golden and utterly dee-lishus ! And, of course, unbelievably fattening.
    So i reckon deep-frying might be the way to go, Huntie …

    Like

    • I did just that last night, GP! With saltines and butter, water to drink. At 2:00 a.m., I weighed 80.4 lbs. This morning at 11:30 a.m., I weighed 77.8 lbs. grr!

      Like

  5. Pasta and pizza are no-no’s for my waistline. Do you like them? As well, I love anything with legumes or beans but they can sometimes sit heavy on your stomach if you have too much at one sitting. Donuts and cakes, fat buns loaded are also calorie donors.
    Deep frying tastes sooo good but won’t all that fat give you high cholesterol?

    Like

  6. Cheesecake! Fried chicken with homemade french fries! Double whopper with cheese, large fries & milkshake! Lasagne!
    I also make a wonderful dish my daughter invented: brown 1 lb. lean ground beef in fry pan with a bit of garlic, onion & pepper to taste, put beef aside while you use the same pan to cook 2 – 3 scrambled eggs (to taste). Once the eggs are cooked, add back in the beef, a can of mushrooms or equivalent fresh if preferred, add in large can of niblet corn or frozen niblets. Allow to warm through in the pan. Cook 2 cups of rice & when finished add soya sauce to taste (I often add extra pepper to the rice at this point) & mix into beef mixture. So good! Great the next day if you have any leftovers! With my hubby -there are never any leftovers! You can also add any type of fresh peppers to this you want.

    Like

  7. MY Dad has always been a serious string bean. (Clearly, I got my weight genes from Mom…)
    When he was in college, he drank a pint of half&half every day to gain weight; gained five pounds. When he quit drinking it, lost five pounds.
    In my more decadent days, a favorite treat was to eat jorden almonds with half&half.
    Use half&half for milk, on cereal and such.

    Like

  8. *sigh*
    sometimes it seems that Nature makes a mistake and there are opposing extremes like you and I.
    Sometimes I feel no matter what I eat – if it isn’t a vegetable – I will gain weight.

    It seems to me that you are on the right track with protein rich smoothies. I’d also be eating a lot of pasta and bread too. Neither are particular weaknesses of mine but when my coach wanted me to eat more of them during my heavy training schedule, I started to gain unwanted pounds. Maybe more grains in your diet will do the same for you.

    Like

  9. I have the same problem. I suddenly went from 185 to 145 in a few months and then it see-sawed back and forth, then plummeted again. I’m back to 155, the same weight when I was 16, I’m 59 now. Most of my coworkers hate me because they are anywhere from 50 to 100 pounds overweight. I live in fear of windy days. I could walk out of the house and end up in Tennessee in some farmer’s field. I found the Juice Plus powder to be a life saver. If not for that stuff, I’d be a skeleton in Tiger Mom’s closet.

    Like

      • You are welcome Hunt! Got my 99 year old grandfather on it too. His nutrition was so bad he was sliding into dementia and I had to put him in Hospice. The Juice Plus powder gave him a foot hold and good care graduated him from Hospice back to his home where he is now a happy camper. Read the ingredients first, it has a long list of natural foods but gotta make sure none of it clashes with you.

        Like

        • Willy, came back to edit this comment. What a great story you told above. Thank you! Ensure is considered fantastic, but in fact moves so fast thru my body that within 10 minutes, I’ll be in the ladies room or in serious trouble!

          Like

  10. Huntie – This business of keeping our weight where it’s supposed to be is a daily issue for so many of us. Most of my adult life I’ve been obsessed with taking weight off. I’d lose 100, gain 100, lose 100 and on and on. I was doing more harm to my body with the yo-yo of dieting and gaining than if I could have figured out how to stay the same weight all the time.
    However, in 2008 or so I started feeling like I would never be hungry again. I had no idea what was going on but didn’t take the issue seriously as I was dropping weight like crazy and of courses everyone was telling me how wonderful I looked. I kept mum about the fact that I had severe pain in my stomach.
    Because I’m diabetic I entered into a phase of my blood sugar dropping dangerously low all because I didn’t want anything to eat. Before, I couldn’t have understood the concept of not ever being hungry and not wanting something to eat. Now I get it!
    I don’t have wonderful food ideas to give you because I struggle with them myself. I do however drink a lot of fortified shakes. I don’t eat meat (I think we’ve already discussed that issue) and I have to be extra careful to get my protein requirement.
    I eventually found out I have a slow emptying stomach that’s causing most of my problems.
    My biggest enemy is the low blood sugar and is an issue that contributes big time to my falling. I always have to fortify myself before going to bed to ensure I won’t go into a comma during my sleeping hours. Like you, it’s easy for me to go hours between meals so my team of doctors have worked out a plan wherein I’m supposed to have 6 meals a day consisting of 2 complex carbs and at least 1 protein serving. The meals are to be no more than 3 to 4 hours apart (that’s the hard part). Then, I’m supposed to have extra snacks to keep the blood sugar up but yet have to monitor them to ensure the blood sugar won’t go to high.
    Good luck my friend. It is indeed difficult juggling all of these aspects of staying healthy.

    Like

    • Wow, Sheri – the consequences for you are far more serious at this moment than my own. The lack of appetite is a big problem, but part of that is the body adjusting; it can also be the various Rx we take. When I lost the 20 lbs back in 1974, it took six meals a day for a year to get back 16 lbs. Thanks for understanding. What are complex carbs? (I could google it, of course).

      Like

Come talk with me...

