Celebrating Flag Day (June 14) and Father’s Day (June 15)

This is an important weekend for traditionalists. Tomorrow, June 14, is the United States Flag Day. I’ve only missed it once and that was last year. Tomorrow I’ll be out and about by 9:00 a.m. (the reality is I say that, so I’ll leave by 9:15 a.m.). Our little town, Federal Way, Washington always celebrates this as a community. Politicians, military, police, firemen, civilians will all gather together and talk of the United States Flag and sing our Anthem, say the Pledge of Allegiance and say thank you to our rescue people. I love it!

Right after that, Maureen Bernardy and I have a plan to go to the local Farmer’s Market and stroll around. Oh my word, the foods available to eat, made in tiny portable little kitchens are divine, not to mention the wonders of produce and flowers that will be available. Kanzen of Kanzen Sakura fame, has persuaded me to purchase a Cuisinart Ice-Cream maker, which I just did. So, I plan to buy fruits at the Farmer’s Market in expectation of the delivery of that ice-cream maker. I also bought a 25 count of ice-cream pint containers. Hey, once I get started, it’s hard to stop. Yep, Kanzen, I got the special spatula you recommended, too.

Sunday is Father’s Day. My father passed away at 58 years old. I honored him Memorial Day for his military service. This weekend I’ll post a couple of reblogs that should bring a grin to your face even if you read it last year. Turns out I have written more than a few posts honoring men, young and old. I think I’ll reblog those as well. I love men and feel they’ve gotten a shoddy deal the last 30 years. Here is to good men all over the world.

Thank you, gentlemen.

Huntie

16 thoughts on “Celebrating Flag Day (June 14) and Father’s Day (June 15)

  1. We celebrate flags & the country on July 1 – Canada day here. I envy you going to the farmer’s market for all the fresh produce & fruit. I would love to have some fresh cherries!
    BTW, I meant to tell you from your last post about weight – I also have hypothyroidism, so have gained weight in addition to the weight I gained when I quit smoking & then to find out recently one of the anti-depressants I am taking has a side effect of weight gain! No wonder I struggled so hard to lose a few pounds! But I am proud of myself – I lost 30 lbs. since last June, but I have a long way to go!

    Like

  2. Huntie, It sounds like you have a wonderful weekend planned. Filled with lots of joy and joyful activities, and time for quiet memories. As you stroll, don’t forget to stop at the food vendors, and ice cream cone here, a corn dog there, will all help. Please take care, and be safe. Bill xox

    Like

Come talk with me...

