Christians: You have 72 hours to convert to Islam, pay a tax, or die

Did you catch this story? Over the weekend, in Mosul, Iraq, the newly proclaimed Caliphate that stretches from parts of Syria into Iraq, supported by the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (ISIS or ISIL), a highly successful force of Islamic fundamentalists, declared to all Christians residing in Mosul that they had 72 hours to convert to Islam, pay a tax, or die. There are now thousands of Christians fleeing the area, some of whom come from families that have lived there since 100 AD… Anybody speaking out? How about the virtual exodus of Copts in Egypt? Around the world in 130 countries Christians are persecuted on a horrific continuing basis.

I remember writing about a Christmas Eve a couple of years back. After attending midnight mass, I stepped outside in the falling snow and heard a voice ask, “This is your line in the sand. Will you defend their right to practice their religion?” Yes. Yes, I will.

For right now, that defense may simply consist of speaking out and being sure that my small circle of the world is aware. That I can do.

26 thoughts on “Christians: You have 72 hours to convert to Islam, pay a tax, or die

  1. Proselytizing religions are ~ and, of course, especially this one ~ insane. But then, so are those that have grown up in them, and are without the slightest hope of ever being free of them.

    Like

  2. How about: “Mooslimes, you have 24 hours to hide, then we’re coming after you. We don’t want you to convert nor pay a tax, just die.
    Some say, “Oh, but they’re okay, they’re not radical.” WRONG!!! If they believe in the Quran, they believe in our annihilation and Islam dominating the world because that’s what written there. And don’t forget ‘taquiya’, the blessing of Allah to lie to an infidel to further the cause of Islam.

    Like

    • Michael, welcome. You might want to see my response to Tess’ Let’s Cut the Crap! up above. More and more, I am hearing “Turn the area into glass.” or “Build a wall around the area and leave it for 50 years until Sunni and Shite gorge themselves on death.”

      Like

  3. Hunt, Thank you for continuing to be the lighthouse for intelligent thinking people. I knew the number was high (countries where Christians were persecuted) but didn’t realize it was that high. But I am not the least bit surprised. I converse with my wife on this very topic on a regular basis, and I am still mystified. But like you I have drawn a line in the sand and I will defend it with all my might. Take care, Bill

    Like

    • Hey, Bill, we’ll huff, puff and blow ’em down, eh? You and me, Bill. I hesitated before publishing this as it brings out fierce response, yet, I felt it had to be said. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Like

  4. We should be hearing about this every day on the news, but somehow it is not seen as relevant. It’s horrifying that it is happening and it is horrifying that it is so under-reported and barely even commented on by the “leaders” in our own country.

    Like

  5. Ii is amazing how the religions that try to force themselves down throats, yet call themselves a ‘belief’, can’t see the absurdity of it. A person cannot believe something without a personal conviction, and force cannot give conviction – only the pretense of it.

    Like

    • I had so many answers to your comment, Col, stemming from agreement with it. Suddenly, an old saying popped into my head, “Give me a child at an impressionable age and they are mine for life!”

      Like

      • You know, I used to agree with that saying, and I suppose it is largely true. However, there are numerous exceptions to the rule. I was brought up in a conventional Christain background, with a mother as church organist and a quiet but forceful believer. Nevertheless, over the years, my intellect has told me how much of that ‘belief’ was unwarranted and illogical, and I have had to readjust my thinking fairly radically in consequence. The point is, I was successful in so doing, despite the early and thorough indoctrinaton.

        Like

        • That is because you are a conscious and thoughtful thinking and feeling person, Col. It takes willingness to look again and see if we agree with all we’ve been taught or if it’s mindless reflex. You are a fine example of the former. 🙂 – Lest there be any confusion, by that I mean, you have done and continue to do the hard work, Col.

          Like

  6. Christians are persecuted in this country as well as other countries. People of other religions can demand the kibosh be put on “Christians and their activities and have it happen. Maniacs on both sides but the scariest ones are those who have declared jihad against us. I am afraid for the future when terrorists can defame and kill Christians more than they do and use our newcasters to cast Israel as terrible people. Israel warns – warns of a bomb strike ad what do they do? they move children,civilians, old folks into the area and then scream murder when the bomb hits. We need to get our facts and priorities straight here and now or we will continue to be persecuted.

    Like

  7. I prefer to keep my head in the sand, myself, but even then I still have a hard time ignoring religious hatred. It sickens me that this still happens after 2000 years of ‘civilization’. Sometimes, I think the peoples of that part of the world know of no other life, than that of conflict and domination.

    Like

  8. My primary care physician is Muslim & we have had some interesting & respectful discussions about the differences in our beliefs. Neither of us is proslytising we are both curious people.
    I made a remark at the end of our most recent discussions about what a shame it is that some people misuse their religion to force their beliefs on others. It is happening now in the Middle East & it happened with the Crusades. Both times, savage cruelty has been used as a means to make people convert. There are many examples of this in history.
    It’s such a shame when most religions believe in some of the same basic tenets – be kind to others, honor your parents, do not steal, do not kill to name just a few.

    Like

Come talk with me...

