Reverence ~ Who Needs It?

Once again, it is Sunday, a day I try to keep sacred, set aside just for me and God. Things happen that can send that askew. But all in all, I’m pretty good at tuning in and shutting down the outside world on Sundays. Jews and Muslims choose Friday to celebrate a day with God, though at different times of the day. I began to do this only a short while ago, probably right about the time I was circling the local church’s doors, trying to work my courage to the sticking point and get myself to cross the threshold again. In thinking back, I think this might have been my soulution to those times I chickened out on crossing the threshold and walking into a space wholly dedicated to the worship of God. It is a different space, you know.

For those of us, for one reason or another, who have found ourselves outside those doors, wondering or even mocking those inside, it might be time to take another look inside ~ not a church necessarily, but within ourselves. If we are honest in that gaze, we might admit, just to ourselves even, that there is more to us than just a collection of cells inside a suitcase called a “body.” Anybody who reads me, by now, surely knows that I push hard on the various aspects of ourselves, the Physical, Mental, Emotional, and Spiritual. I have spent a lot of time contemplating how they work together and what happens when those aspects of us do not work together.

I have a dear friend who is fascinated by these stories of mine, of my being in hot pursuit of God. She has asked me to keep writing on this topic because, she, herself, wants something more than she has found thus far. Just in discussing God, her voice breaks, tears well up, and there is such a longing in her voice coming down the phone line. Like me, she is circling the church’s doors, wanting, hesitating, terrified to find and terrified she might not find an answer to that inner longing.

This longing, this need for the sacred, the profound, the call from and for something bigger than ourselves must be answered. We need solace. We need space and time for reverence in our lives. Nothing else comes close to satisfying and quenching that thirst, that cry of the Soul for home.

19 thoughts on “Reverence ~ Who Needs It?

  1. Interesting take on it.
    My issues with relationships to god aren’t personal relationships, but the relationships through the blind dogma of organized religion.

    But wherever you may find that spiritualism, I hope it works and is fulfilling for you.

    Like

    • El Guapo, so nice to see you! Yes, my pursuit has been up hill and down dale and full of joy and trials. I would not trade my adventure for anything in the world.

      Like

  2. My dear Huntie, so many stand outside those doors – afraid of finding nothing, afraid of being judged, afraid of not being worthy, some doubtful of an existence of a superior being, others carrying baggage of in the past, hypocritical people who embittered and disappointed them. We all have our reasons for not going through those doors. The wonderful thing is, Jesus meets us right where we are. Just as He did 2000 years ago, He does not judge us – He reaches His hand out in love and forgiveness. Just as He protected a prostitute from hypocritical Pharisees, just as He ate with known sinners, with gentiles, Romans, farmers, rich persons, He met them with the same non-judgemental love, only asking that we believe in His love and forgiveness. He promised us eternal life and living water – so our souls would never thirst again. The early Christians learned that it was important to have fellowship with other Christians – to support each other with prayer, food, money, a place to stay – to reach out as Jesus reaches out – no judgement, just love. We humans try to make such a simple thing so complicated and limit ourselves to times and places of worship. Certainly John Wesley rode about the English countryside and eventually the Us, carrying the good news to all he came into contact with. Often, his pulpit was a tree stump in the woods and preached to those who came – rich, poor, fancy clothes, rags, educated, illiterate, women and children as well as men. If afraid to open those doors and pass through, then open the book of John – go through those doors that speak of Jesus’ true miracles and love. John was Jesus’ first cousin and the beloved disciple. The others got the how and what, John speaks of the why. Jesus first miracle was turning water into wine. Wine is the symbol of joy and water the symbol of life. This first miracle shows how Jesus can turn the ordinary water of our lives into a miraculous joy, how in bad circumstances, Jesus is with us and changes us through His love and Power. He healed, He raised from the dead, He fed the hungry. Whether one goes through that door is a choice and it can be scary. But when you realize you are going to visit with Jesus and His Father, maybe it will make it easier. The people, music, sermon – they are extras but not the main event. I have found going to casual contemporary services to be fulfilling and worshipful. Just keep your soul connected to the true words of God/ Open the doors of your heart and step inside. If you believe, you will find love and forgiveness from the One who dwells in us all.

    Like

  3. Hunt, I was touched by this post, as you know I have recently reaffirmed my faith, and have joined a local church. Do I feel better about the choice, yes on so many levels. Do I think the time I spent circling the door was wasted, no not in the least. Each circle I made allowed me to feel closer, to be drawn, to find acceptance and belief within my soul. One decisions on faith come within, when each trip around brings you closer and closer until you are at the door, your soul and heart have spoken to you, just as mine did to me. Now all that is left is that final step, open the door and step in, Once inside you will depart on another journey. One filled with joy, learning understanding, and that of a shared warmth.. Those within will accept you, and help you complete the trip. Take care, Bill

    Like

    • Bill, I am so glad you found peace, calm, and joy in your decision. It’s clear people still think I’m circling the doors, though I did provide links telling of my journey within those doors… Grin. I used the “we” as a way to let people know they are not alone in hearing the cry of their soul for home.

      Like

  4. I think maturity finds us searching for the comfort found in spirituality. After circling the door, we find out way back to the peace we left behind because we became too busy or too confident on our own. Between you and Kanzen this post is good food for reflection. ❤

    Like

  5. I have known and loved Jesus since I was a baby but at age 10 at a youth camp it became clear to me that I needed to be accountable to Him. I had to watch my thoughts and attitudes and weigh my choices by how they might affect Him. Not because I feared that Jesus would be mad but because I loved Him so much that I wanted to please Him. But life comes with hardships and disappointments. I am not savvy in a lot of ways. I have come to realize there are things about me that need changing. And people are more important than things. Jesus wants me to not be afraid but to learn about Him and cloth my thinking with His perspectives. I have been praying for the last 2-3 years that Jesus would make me whole as He defines whole. Since then I have begun a journey into what it means to be whole. I am finding healing in my marriage. Peace in my heart. Community with fellow believers that is sweet, kind, supportive, careful and prayerful. God uses the disharmony of His unfinished work in our lives to press us closer into Him. He is the author and finisher of faith. He has promised that our story will end well when we allow Him to write it. :-]

    Like

  6. When my marriage to my first husband was breaking down (who am I kidding, the marriage was broken from the beginning), I found myself on the same type of journey. I had circled the doors, as you say, a few times in my past & always come away disappointed.
    I was brought up with an atheist for a father & a mother who was brought up in the Anglican church (Episcopalian for Americans). My father insisted we were not to be “brain-washed” by the church, we could make up our own minds. Which is what I tried to do when I was 17-18. I attended church with my friend & her parents. For the first 6 months I loved attending church, I always came away feeling a sense of peace. Then I started going to the after service coffee group & listened to so many people gossiping about others & being petty. I stopped going to church because I thought Christians should be above those kinds of behaviors.
    At the time I didn’t realize Christians were the same as everyone else. I wasn’t mature enough to understand. My second foray into the church went much better, I attended classes & was confirmed in the church. I taught Sunday School for toddlers. Pretty soon my class of 12 became 20 as my children brought all their older brothers & sisters with them because they were having so much fun. Although I was going through a divorce, I felt peaceful & loved by the members of the church. Although I am not connected to any church currently, I still feel the love & warmth & peace when I need it.
    I hope your journey has the result you want.

    Liked by 1 person

Come talk with me...

