Essential gifts for your comfort and safety

I did it! After 10 years of wanting this gizmo, I finally treated myself to it! Y.E.S. !!! It is a deceptively simple gizmo and costs about $15.00 bucks. What could it be, you ask? It is called a “LifeHammer.” Here’s a picture:

“Uh, Hunt…? Not exactly a Tiffany diamond, is it?”

Well, it is true a diamond cuts glass, but how long have you got when you need to break a car window or cut a safety belt? This little gizmo is easily mounted within hand reach in your car. What’s the big deal, Hunt? Glad you asked ’cause I am going to tell you.

I live in Washington State, in the western part, surrounded by bodies of water we traverse each and every day via bridges. Washington State is directly behind California for the potential of earthquakes, we have five active volcanoes, we get sudden snow storms that nobody knows how to drive in…, plus it rains a lot here, maybe you’ve heard? Coming from southern California, I was used to the Pacific, but you looked at it, you didn’t drive over it. Shiver. What if…. I got to Washington and my safety sensitivities went into overdrive. What if the bridge collapsed as I was on it, sending me into the water – the idea of drowning in a car fills me with horror. Never mind the fact the fall might kill me. What if it didn’t?! LifeHammer has two purposes: break glass and cut safety belts. SOLD!

You ever had the power go out? I am not talking a few hours, I am talking for six days. I have. It was so cold in my house, I took time off work because I didn’t think my dog and cat would stay warm without supervision. It didn’t take six days to convince me that I would never, ever go through that again – it is dispiriting, disheartening, and damn cold without power. I learned that my needs are pretty simple. I want hot coffee, light and heat. Food could wait; but the coffee was essential – I heated water using six votive candles in a small cake pan, put a little rack over those, put a pot of water on and used a french press. I take my coffee black, so I was good! It worked equally well for heating soup, etc. But… the loss of heat and light. Nope. Never again.

Two years ago, I treated myself to this nifty R2D2 lookalike. The DuraHeat Model DH2304:

“Uh, Hunt? Maybe you have been spending too much time alone…?” Oh, stop!

This DuraHeat Model: DH2304 uses kerosene, puts on 23,000 BTUs (yeah, baby! …what’s a BTU? – who cares? It works!). The product description is as follows:

The DuraHeat 23,000 BTU Portable Kerosene Heater can help you reduce your total home heating costs as well as provide warmth to those hard-to-heat areas up to 1,000 sq. ft. The heat output is adjustable with a simple dial control and an auto-shutoff feature is built in for your safety. This heater operates without electricity and offers an excellent source of emergency heat and light during power outages.

Heat output up to 23,000 BTU/hour
Up to 1,000 sq. ft. heated area
Runs off economical kerosene
Insta-lite electronic ignition requires no electricity
Safety tip-over shut-off feature
Fuel gauge lets you keep track of kerosene supply
Dial control for variable heat output
Portable, can be positioned where needed

I did a lot of research before buying this wonderful thing. I have had the pleasure of testing it and it works a treat! Note: I use it on the brick in front of my fireplace for safety’s sake. It does a better and faster job of heating my home than my regular heating does! One word of caution: do some shopping around for this item as the prices vary. I got mine for about $139, plus I bought a good supply of Kerosene, which I keep out on my apartment patio.

Links below:

LifeHammer ~ http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000BN3A4Y/ref=sr_ph?ie=UTF8&qid=1417648758&sr=1&keywords=lifehammer+the+original+emergency+hammer+orange

DuraHeat Model: DH 2304 ~ http://www.homedepot.com/p/DuraHeat-23-000-BTU-Kerosene-Portable-Heater-DH2304/100045793

P.S.: Yes, I also got a propane cooking stove for emergency patio cooking – never unpacked it. Also, five cans of 3 lb. coffee – Folgers. Told you I had simple tastes….

P.P.S. – y’all did get your supplies of water and food, right? Right?!

18 thoughts on “Essential gifts for your comfort and safety

  1. Great ideas. Also, one of those emergency flashlight/radio/siren/blinker that charges from being cranked by hand. That hammer is one of the best emergency aids you hopefully will never use. Great post and timely for this time of yeat. Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

        • Oh, they can be amazing. My friend, Laura…. her’s is a thing of beauty, form and function. In a tiny fanny pack, she’s got everything she feels she needs for hiking home from work over six days is her calculation…. Luckily for me, she is going to drill me on my skills, which means we start from scratch…. sigh.

          Like

          • Mine unfortunately hold several mylar blankets, rope, hatchet, first aid kit, pistol, round of ammo, crank able flashight\radio, waterproof matchbox, sterno, water packs for 3 days, water pure tabs, bottle with pure filter, glucose tabs, freeze dried food packs, fishing kit, small bow and some arrows, baton, in other words, true bug out..food, shelter, self defense….craziness. a smaller version in thecar.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. A handy tool to have … not something I’ve thought about until now. Does your kero heater smell? But who cares, as long it works. I’m remembering the old days. In fact, I wasn’t even sure kerosene was still being made! LOL. We have a medium sized cylinder of gas to use with our camping light, a radient heater and the BBQ. I resorted to the good old candle and matches when our power went off during the thunderstorm last night, and went to bed early! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • That a girl! No, the heater doesn’t smell – except for the first couple of minutes maybe – I just throw open an outside door to be sure all is clear – and wham! Leap back across the room and get WARM!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have one of the ‘wind up’ lights’. I mention this to IMPreSS you. πŸ˜€

    I like the tool tool and I need to explore the heater, although ‘inside’ (the house) kerosene makes me nervous. We have Loews here. Maybe they have something safer? Anyway, research is forthcoming. Thank YOU, Huntie.

    What gets me is about 20+ years ago I watched a talk show that showcased (can’t recall the fancy words: heating in hanging pictures on the wall for pennies a day). If they were so great, what the heck happened to them? Have you heard of this\\\\\\\\\\\\/

    Like

    • Ummm, I felt the same way. Kerosene should be treated with respect, but this application has a safety tip valve – turns off if unbalanced. I got it from the Home Depot, a Lowe’s competitor here in the states. Kerosene heaters are apparently used a great deal back East, so perhaps, that might ease your mind, Tess. I have not heard of your heating in hanging pictures… wow. what a concept!

      Like

  4. Here in the suck heap, we don’t really have to worry so much about heat as about cooking. The last time my power went off for longer than a day, I cooked water outside for a bath and on the propane gas stove inside for coffee πŸ˜‰ But we’ve been having power issues here lately so I might have to look at moving over to gas for cooking and the geyser and the refrigeration – might save me quite a bit of bucks in the long run and I don’t have to worry so about the government’s ineptitudes.
    I do agree with you – that little hammer thingy is a very good idea!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Come on over to the comfort side – I always think of emergency prep as the best of not being inconvenienced or at a disadvantage – once I’m set, I don’t fuss or worry about “what if” scenarios or “Oh s ***, no power!” I just move forward, knowing I’m good because I prepared. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow – the comments between you and Kanzen made me feel wholly unprepared … she has a serious bug-out kit!!!
    Here I thought we were doing reasonably well with our battery powered radio and various gas appliances that kept us warm and fed during last year’s 3 day chill-in-the-dark ice storm.
    Obviously I need to up my game πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Joanne, it sounds like you are doing well! Preparedness is one of those things that, once you start, it grows on you. If you buy thru the year, it doesn’t cost a fortune, you can pick up on sales, and in the case of food, use throughout the year, replacing as you go. What you want is enough so that, if and when there is an emergency, you don’t have to fight the crowds for what you need…. you’ve got it. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Come talk with me...

