Christmas Eve 2014 ~ “Hark, I bring you good tidings”

It is soft and quiet at my house this Christmas Eve. I found myself grateful today for this day, this Christmas Eve and for tomorrow, Christmas Day. Despite all the crappy news and usual human messiness, this is the one moment in the West where we try to be good to one another and for that, I am so grateful.

Back in 2012, I wrote of a Christmas Eve and my wanting to be part of a Catholic Community. Two years later, I am astounded at my heart and soul’s growth and return to my childhood faith. It has come in dribbles and drabs, in sudden leaps across chasms, and sometimes as though I was crossing cement on my knees. Faith and belief in the unseen is a personal journey. No one can do it for you and, near as I can tell, it is an individualized journey, wholly circumscribed by the person experiencing it. No two journeys are alike. For me, and I speak only for me, I have so much more joy now than at any other time in my life. I feel an appreciation for my life and for those who share it with me that is deep and rich and filled with miracles, one after another. I am so blessed by events and people that every day is singular and special. This past year was tough. And yet… And yet, I was never alone, not for a minute. Coming to an adult understanding of Catholicism, of what the birth of the Christ child meant and His eventual death on the Cross and His Resurrection has brought me profound gratitude and peace. Whether you believe or not, may you experience this season in your hearts and homes. Merry Christmas.

For your listening pleasure:

8 thoughts on “Christmas Eve 2014 ~ “Hark, I bring you good tidings”

Come talk with me...

