OUR LIVES DISAPPEARED WITH BIPOLAR DISORDER

Bipolar dis-ease. Two words that can scare you or save you. Sheri de Grom writes with truth and a soft starkness of what it can mean to a couple devoted to one another. Read it. If not for you, perhaps a friend or another family member. In my family, there were four children – two boys and two girls. One brother and one sister were diagnosed bipolar. The first when I was 12 and the second I think I was closer to 18. Ever since, I have waited for me to manifest it. I am 59 year old. So far, so good. Thank you to Sheri and all the others who reach out.

Sheri Lawrence de Grom

Our Lives Disappeared With Bipolar Disorder     
The Fourth House
  By – Sheri de Grom

Our perfect lives were swept away by my husband’s disease of bipolar disorder before we’d had the opportunity to fulfill our hopes and dreams. When we met, Tom was not yet diagnosed as bipolar disordered nor were the coming symptoms present.

Even when they did manifest, Tom was first diagnosed with single episode major depression.

Two weeks passed and Tom was as emotionally paralyzed as when I’d first admitted him. If anything, he was more withdrawn than he’d been fourteen days earlier. He seemed to take one step forward and then two steps back. His condition, whatever it was, had a mean streak. He wasn’t getting better.

My days rolled into a vacuum and I put one foot in front of the other. Exhaustion overwhelmed me. “Please God, what is going on with…

View original post 1,585 more words

9 thoughts on “OUR LIVES DISAPPEARED WITH BIPOLAR DISORDER

    • Ah, Paulette, your book “The Persecution of Mildred Dunlop” demonstrates you, too, are willing to speak aloud and eloquently on topics that hide beneath the skin.

      May this coming year be filled with the best of the best yet for you and your family. xxoo Huntie

      Liked by 1 person

  1. i don’t think I have the mental fortitude to deal with something like this. I’ve known people with the disorder and the kind of person I am just don’t sit well with the disease.
    I think you have to be a certain kind of person to be able to deal with it patiently and compassionately. I know my faults however and therefore know that I just make matters worse.
    I commend those of you out there that has that ability – you are much braver than me!

    Like

    • J, how honest of you and it is important to know what you can handle and what you think is beyond your comfort level. Knowing you as I do, you have given and given to those in need, including offering shelter and some of that went sideways or ended poorly. I have found my tolerance level has gone down as the years have gone by. Sometimes you can just feel sucked dry and need distance.

      Liked by 1 person

Come talk with me...

