Race Discussions and Caffeine at Starbucks

Starbucks is launching a year long campaign to improve race relations. Your next cup of coffee may have “Race Together” written on it and your barista will be happy to chat with you about improving race relations. Yes. Honestly. Living here, 30 miles outside Seattle, I shudder thinking of what will come of this. At this moment in time, race discussions are resulting in violence from protests to people being shot. Now, throw in holding your caffeine hostage….

The Ideal Man flourishes – chipping away at you every single day. And if you object, let the name calling begin. Shudder.

20 thoughts on “Race Discussions and Caffeine at Starbucks

  1. Race. Such a small thing really, but so huge.
    Living where l do, l don’t think it’s a matter of actual colour, but of cultures. Your way of doing vs my way.
    Do l want to discuss this over coffee?
    Nope.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So far, it’s not going over all that well. A piece of it is that, at a guess, the average age of a barista is maybe 18-24.

      Wasn’t there an old saying, something like, “Don’t teach your grandmother to suck eggs.” yeah, something like that….

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Instead of all this hew and cry over race and making things more divisive, why don’t we start a conversation about the HUMAN race? Instead of having “die ins” with signs Black Lives Matter, Moslem Lives Matter….why don’t we all have a huge hug in and all of us carry signs that read – ALL HUMAN LIVES MATTER….Starbucks, be ashamed to overcharge for coffee and then pretend to take a stance about race and caring. If you cared, you’d have on your cups #Human Lives Matter….until then, get out of my face.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is one of those wonky things here in Seattle, Kanzen. When I worked downtown, I couldn’t go out at lunch time without being assaulted by various advocacy groups who got in my face with clipboards and petitions to be signed. It got so we knew each other on sight….

      One afternoon on break, I looked outside and saw people in head to toe environmental protections suits and thought we had had some sort of biohazard scare. My inner rage when I discovered it was some protest group was so high I had to go back upstairs to calm down…

      Like

  3. Huntie – I love the way you tackle these issues head on. You are indeed my kind of woman. I have no intention of discussing race relations at Starbucks or any other location for that matter. This isn’t the proper form for me to express how I honestly feel about the entire mess. I will say Tom and I used to love spending long lazy Sunday afternoons at Starbucks where I would write and he would sketch. It was one of those places where everyone knew your name and were glad you came. I miss those Sunday afternoons — we had great conversation, great coffee and met some really interesting people.
    On the subject of the coffee experience itself, I’ve always thought of Starbucks the same way having coffee is a European experience. It’s just most Americans don’t know how to experience coffee. Americans are a grab and go bunch instead of a linger and acknowledge the artistry, the aroma, the full flavor of the coffee bean and the differences in the various beans. Give me a non-fat latte at 140 degrees (the perfect temperature for drinking coffee) and I’m as happy as can be.
    Tom and I both love Starbucks coffee both at the stores and we have their coffee maker at home and use the pods almost everyday. Sure, it’s more expensive than that can of Folgers — but we also have coffee shipped to us from independent roasters we’ve discovered as we’ve lived and traveled the world. We are as serious about our coffee as others are about their wine, cheese selections or cast iron pots and pans.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The last time I drank Starbucks coffee, I think I grew hair on my chest. I like black coffee, but not Starbucks.
    No, I am not one to discuss race relations with strangers over coffee. I can keep my head in a heated discussion for a couple minutes, and I k.n.o.w. people will be yelling. No thanks. What’s to be gained from putting everyone into separate categories. Like Kansen mentioned, I prefer ‘human race’ instead. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I support anything that encourages people to share information to help them understand each other better, but I’m not sure this is the best idea. The people working at Starbucks are already at a disadvantage in this discussion because they start from a position of “server” simply by the act of doing their job. It is their job to be respectful & helpful to customers. Can they really have a frank discussion with a customer from this position?
    Secondly, when the average person stumbles into Starbucks for their caffeine fix do they really want to engage in a discussion about race relations? They need caffeine & so they may not be in the best frame of mind to begin with!

    Like

Come talk with me...

